McCall’s 6954 Reimagined as a shirt

I don’t know why but I have been on a floral kick lately.  Normally pink isn’t my color but my mom pointed out that this looks quite good with my skin tone so I guess it just has to be the “right” pink.  Having a bit of a tan doesn’t hurt either.   When I saw this lightweight floaty polyester floral at Joann’s I thought it was just screaming to be a tank top. I had previously deemed McCall’s 6954 to the don’t make again pile but I pulled it back out for this project because it had the racerback and floaty fit I was looking for.

s-l300

I cut off the pattern at 17″ below the neckline to turn it into a top. I cut the front and back on the fold and narrowed in just a tad on the side seams to allow me to get the shirt out of a single yard of fabric.

DSC_0906

The neck and armholes are finished with self bias binding folded to the inside and sewed down. Just like the last time I made this pattern I had a heck of a time getting it to lay flat along the curves. Even with extensive stay stitching and stabilizing tape I must have still warped it.  Despite that this was exactly what I wanted and was very comfortable on a recent business trip to San Francisco.

DSC_0901

This was a fast project and I can certainly see more of these floaty woven tops in my future.

One thought on “McCall’s 6954 Reimagined as a shirt

Leave a Reply

