My Cloth Habit: Watson and Harriet

I can not seem to stop making bras I never knew I would get so addicted.

First up we have a long line Watson bra and a Madlynne by Simplicity 8228 panty. For this I used a bra kit from Tailor Made. I only had scraps left but I was also able to squeze out the panty with some additional black mesh from my stash. These panties are intended to have scalloped lace on the sides so I had to do some alteration and and seam allowances to make it work.  The bra is super comfortable and good for yoga. The panties are a little too full coverage for my taste. Even my high waisted jeans don’t cover the top of these.

 

Next up was the reason I bought the watson pattern in the first place. My lemon bra! This lemon print cotton jersey from art gallery is quite expensive for me but luckily bras don’t take much fabric and I was able to get it off of Amazon so gift card to the rescue!  I actually made 2 pairs of panties to go with this bra but the other was in the wash.  The other pair is solid yellow with lemon on the sides like the panties above but done in a bikini style.  This is a fun set to wear but it does tend to show through light colored clothing.

DSC_0863

 

Next up was a sexy little nude number. I got about 12″ of this nude lace in a $5 grab bag from Tailor Made and I am pretty chuffed that I managed to get an entire set out of it. The main body of the bra is nude stretch mesh backed with non-stretch lining. As you can see it’s pretty see-through, incredibly breathable and perfectly nude!

DSC_0872

It was a struggle to learn how to sew with these light fabrics on my sewing machine but I haven’t had any issues for a while until it sucked the fabric into the faceplate when I was doing the bridge and left the fabric a little mangled.  I ended up fussy cutting a flower out of the lace scraps and appliqueing it on. It looks like it was always meant to be there!

DSC_0873

One thought on “My Cloth Habit: Watson and Harriet

Leave a Reply

