#thesewbackproject

A lovely young UK sewest Hobbling Handmades announced #thesewbackproject on March 30 unfortunately I didn’t find out about it until the last few days of June.

It’s time for a throwback! Recreate or make something inspired by an outfit from when you were younger, share it using the hashtag #thesewbackproject and tag me @hobblinghandmades.

Just my luck she decided to extend the deadline to the end of July and I was in!

I knew immediately what photo I wanted to work with.

BeFunky Collage

I would say I’m more on the “inspired by” track because I wanted to make sure it would be something that I would wear in my day to day. Instead of short sleeves I went sleeveless. I used my TNT Simplicity 1538 pattern and used the tutorial on grainline for altering it to make it sleeveless.   The fabric I used was a very lightweight indian cotton shirting in a creamsicle plaid.

I was lucky and had these pink buttons left over from my flamingo dress that matched perfectly

DSC_1009

I goofed and attached the back piece inside out. I don’t think you can notice other then the fact its an inverted pleat.

DSC_1013

I did french seams on the side and then sewed them down to look like flat-felled seams. Also can we just take a moment to notice the un-intentional pattern matching across the seam. I love when that happens

DSC_1016

Ideally I would have liked to use the Closet Case Morgan jeans pattern for the pants but I just couldn’t justify the pattern cost.  So I pulled out my Ginger Jeans pattern instead.  I used a grey blue denim from Colorado Fabrics that I got back in May and gold topstitching.  Just to be cheeky I used cotton scraps left over from the shirt for the guts of the jeans.

DSC_0939

I think these are my favorite me made jeans yet!   I still have a little excess fabric right below the zipper. I need to do some research on how to fix it. I wore them several times and then the zipper popped! I was so bummed. But I had originally used cotton for the fly shield and it was too thin so I was planing to replace it with denim anyway so I replaced the zipper at the same time.  As you can see all is well again.

DSC_1000

I appreciate this challenge because it  forced me to make an outfit that I probably wouldn’t have done otherwise but I think both pieces will get a fair amount of use in my rotation.

I will leave you with some out-takes….uzzi can’t resist a photo shoot!

DSC_0983

DSC_0986 2

3 thoughts on “#thesewbackproject

  1. Oh my goodness! You sure look sweet in your plaid shirt and rolled up jeans, both now and then!!!
    So precious! I know your Mom is going to smile when she sees this post. 🙂
    Uzzi is looking quite dapper too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

