Another Simplicity 1544 for Tony

I thought I  would start out the new year with an unselfish sew. Actually I felt a bit guilty, this was part of my x-mas presents to Tony and I wasn’t able to get around to sewing before the holidays. I figured I needed to make it before I did any more dresses for myself.

I picked up this light weight flannel in a blue and grey buffalo check during a jo-ann 50% off plaid sale. The fabric looked like something he would like so I picked it up. I think he’s pleased with the shirt. It fulfills his suburban lumberjack aesthetic that he strives for.

dsc_0182

I used the perlized snaps per his request and they look a lot better then I thought it would.  It took me some time futzing around in his toolbox trying to figure out how to attach them, I ended up using some crimping pliars. He loves snaps so I may breakdown and get the actual tool for snaps…we will see.

dsc_0183

This is the first non-solid colored shirt that I have made Tony so I cut the button plackets, Cuffs, and Yolk on the bias to give it some visual interest.

dsc_0184

I’m still having issues figuring out those darn chimney plackets. I need to just sit down one day and practice doing them on some scrap material.

dsc_0185

But Tony is happy so that is all that matters! ( You can’t tell but I think that’s a smile under all the beard)

dsc_0180

 

One thought on “Another Simplicity 1544 for Tony

  1. I can see that he is pleased! I can see it in his eyes. Cutting the fabric on the bias for the cuffs and yoke did give it a nice touch. Good colored fabric! Okay Tony Bunyan, where is Babe your blue ox?

    Like

Leave a Reply

