Simplicity 1544 Men’s Shirt and Butterick 6339 Men’s Vest

I made this shirt months ago but it took me until now to get pictures with my reluctant model.

dsc_0167

It’s not a color I would have expected him to pick but its not my place to judge. He had originally wanted snaps on this but I felt like the shirt looked too  formal for that and he wanted it to wear with his suit so I convinced him to change to grey buttons instead.

dsc_0168

The fabric was really light weight broadcloth so the cuffs turned out well.

dsc_0169

Next up we have the vest that I made him for Christmas. I was a little disappointed in the fit, despite measuring his chest ahead of time the size I made for him was just a tad too small. He could button it but I thought it was too tight to be comfortable for any extended period. I did some triage since I wasn’t in the mood to unpick the whole thing apart and just moved the buttons over an inch. Now the buttons aren’t centered as they should be but he assures me no one will notice.

dsc_0174

I am very happy with how the notched collar turned out. I already have the wool cut out for a waistcoat for myself!

dsc_0177

 

 

 

One thought on “Simplicity 1544 Men’s Shirt and Butterick 6339 Men’s Vest

  1. Great shirt and vest! I think he is right, I don’t think anyone will notice the button move on the vest. Just something to remember when you are making the next one. BTW “what a handsome model!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

