It’s settled, we need bigger doors.

I have been wanting a darker petticoat to wear with my  fall/winter attire. I have been lusting over Malco Mode ones but I just couldn’t justify the cost.  I thought it might be fun to try and make my own. I picked up Simplicity 1427 a few months ago and I thought view B (shown in brown) might work.

imgres

The only problem is that it calls for 35 yards of tulle, I knew if I was going to make this economical buying from Jo-Ann’s was not going to cut it (no pun intended). It took some internet sleuthing but I was able to find a bolt of 40 yards for $9. It took a lot of self-control not to buy a bunch of different colors so I could have color coordinated petticoats for my entire wardrobe. Ultimately logic prevailed  and I decided I should try it out first before I went hog wild. I settled on a navy blue that should work with my blue taffeta if this was the only one that I made.

I always like to research a pattern a bit before I make it. I ended up on the blog of the pattern designer herself. I sure am glad I was it because there are many things that she intended but for some reason the instruction writer completely missed.

  1. Don’t even bother with the pattern pieces, just cut the tulle rectangles directly off the bolt, all  the pieces are designed to use the full 54″ width.
  2. Gather each layer separately. For some reason when they wrote the instructions they have you sew 4 layers together and then gather it which defeats the purpose of having all those layers in the first place
  3. Don’t hem the inner circle skirt lining until after the dress has hung for a day. For some reason the instructions have you hem the skirt before it hangs before any of the tulle layers are even added to it.

The sewing wasn’t very hard, just extremely tedious. Streight lines and gathering the whole way. It took 3 days and multiple spools of thread and I have myself one fluffy cupcake of a skirt.

dsc_0035-2

I can’t help but feel like it’s a grown up Toddlers in Tiaras skirt. Too big really to wear with my  day to day dresses but I think it may still work for a special occasion dress. Also, Uzzi loves hiding in it.

Just look at all those layers! They trap a lot of air so it’s very insulating to legs in the colder months.

dsc_0038

The skirt has 7 layers of tulle and an anti-static circle underskirt.There is an inner yolk that has 4 layers to help keep some of the bulk out of the waistband.  Then three outer layers that are attached directly into the waistband, 2 with bottom ruffles and one non-ruffle layer between them.

dsc_0040-2

As is I don’t think I will make this again. I might want to try out one of the other views instead for a little less volume and effort. Those ruffles were the worst, each one is 29 yards long so a ruffle a day was all I could handle.

dsc_0037

Leave a Reply

