Channeling Minnie Mouse

Ugg. I need to start getting back into the habit of buying fabric with a pattern in mind. I keep running into the issue of having way too much fabric left over OR not enough to do the dress that I want.  Case in point Simplicity 8085

8085

I wanted to do the long version but since I tend to buy fabric in 4 yard lengths I didn’t have enough. I settled for the short skirt with some of the dress details. Jury is still out on this one.

This cotton was surprisingly  stiff even after several washes so I was figuring it would work well with this style skirt since it has some built in structure. I do like how the back bodice looks but Im not sure i’m sold on the proportions.

One of the biggest complaints of this pattern is how impractical it is to put the finished garment on.  It just have some tiny little snaps on the back waist and down the skirt. They are almost impossible to snap by your self and they are not very stable so really the belt does all the work. I may take this apart  and go for the tie waist instead.

DSC_0027

I did some cheats. When I got to the end of the first pack of bias tape i just stopped since it ended right at the waist and no one would see the under skirt anyway.

DSC_0028

 

 

2 thoughts on “Channeling Minnie Mouse

Leave a Reply

