Birthday fabric

My mom sent me two cuts of batik fabric from my birthday. The first one I used for a lovely retro styled halter dress from Butterick 6049.

dress 01.jpg

At first I purchased a yellow cotton for the contrast material, but once home I decided I liked the look of muslin better. After reading a bunch of sewing reviews I was worried that the inset points on the bust were going to be difficult. I watched a ton of tutorials and the prep work paid off.

DSC_0012 (2).jpg

After the success of lining the flamingo dress I decided to do it again. This one uses a cream colored batiste. Again the fabric was really light so I thought this would help to give some volume to the skirt. I am completely in love with this stuff. Its so soft against the skin and helps to give opacity without adding a bunch of weight. I would love to make a bohemian camisole with it. Im thinking with some heirloom lacework and pin tucks.

Lining a dress also makes the insides look so clean.  It really makes my hand made items seem so much more special. I know that its a lot of effort to put into something that wont be seen but it also gives me the chance to practice and fit before using the fashion fabric.

DSC_0013 (2)

 

Even with the open back I was able to fit a convertible bra under this dress which I desperately needed to fill out the top. On alteration that I made was to sew the halter into place. I hate having to sew hook and eyes and I just don’t like how they look.

DSC_0009

This pattern also has a side seam pocket which give it a more casual feel and a nice place to stick a small wallet or phone. With a full skirt you don’t have to worry about adding any bulk to the hips.

DSC_0004 (1)
Took this on a snowy/raining day…now well suited to this look 😦

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Birthday fabric

  1. This yellow fabric is very lovely. You do such fine work, you could almost wear it inside out.
    The dress is flattering on you and I like the Bohemian camisole idea!

    Like

Leave a Reply

