All over the Map

Stash Buster! I have had this map fabric since last year, never finding the right pattern. I finally settled on Simplicity 1755

imgres

I made a few changes. I used the sleeved version but the longer skirt of the sleeveless. This pattern calls for a detached belt but I sewed in a waistband to give me the extra bodice length and cleanup he insides.

My only complaint with this dress is the pleating under the collar. It doesn’t lay very flat. OTOH I am really liking the contrast raglan sleeves

DSC_0019

One new technique I learned was rouleau loops.

DSC_0022 (1)

 

Im not sure if I just wasn’t in the right head space or the pattern was written poorly but I had a lot of problems. My unpicker got quite a workout! Despite all that I am quite happy with the finished result.

collage-2016-03-05

One thought on “All over the Map

  1. Wow! Lots of neat details to this one. Love the fabric and coordinating color choice for the sleeves, collar and waistband. Very nice! The raglan sleeves with button detailing is sweet! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

