Separates?

I had originally purchased this fabric  with the intention of making a more Fall/Winter appropriate dress.  When I got the fabric home Tony was worried that the print was too busy. I asked my Mom and she thought it would with a fuller skirt. I took that literally and did a full skirt from Butterick 6285

B6285_front_large

You cant tell from the envelope photo but this skirt has some really delightful double box pleats in the front and back.

DSC_0192

One weird thing about this pattern is that the seam allowance are completely crazy. The back zip has a 1.5″ allowance!!!! the sides are 1″  Other places are 5/8″  You really have to pay attention to the directions. Im not sure why it is like this, its a total waist of fabric.

DSC_0197 3.11.03 PM

In the back I decided to skip the hook and eye and just use a large button instead

DSC_0194

I happened to have a yellow cardigan that matched perfectly to complete the look.

 

I ordered some labels just after christmas. They finally arrived so I was able to put one in this skirt.

DSC_0196

3 thoughts on “Separates?

Leave a Reply

