Butterick 5882

As I am sure your have noticed by now, I have an affinity for retro styled patterns.  It was only a matter of time before I tried Butterick 5882 shelf bust dress.

images-1

 

I have seen quite a few renditions of this dress online and in many the bust looks slightly tortured.  I spent a lot of time trying to make sure I got those pleats just right.

DSC_0097

Another alteration I made was that many people expressed concern over the bias cut straps stretching. So I cut mine in 3 pieces instead of one. The bit that goes around the bust is bias cut and if you look closely above you can see the seam right at the neckline where I switched over to  fabric cut on the grain.

The sizing on this dress was a little funny. Every pattern I have sewn up until now I cut a straight size.  I muslined a 14 and thought it way to big so ended up cutting a 12. The end results fits OK but the bust is too small for me to fit a bra on underneath, but the waist is to big. If anything I think my shape sort of boyish so the fact that it needs a bigger bust and smaller waist blows my mind.

DSC_0098 2

The bodice lining has boning ( don’t think you can tell). I imagine this would be very useful in keeping the dress from bunching up throughout the day.

DSC_0100

I think the finished dress is OK on the dressform but I don’t like the neckline on myself. I was thinking having all this stuff at the bust would help my  small chest look bigger but if anything it does the opposite. Also I feel the bust detail looks to narrow on me.

 

Its a shame because I really like the fabric and its discontinued now. Perhaps with a cardigan or something I might feel more confidant.

3 thoughts on “Butterick 5882

  1. I just love that fabric. It reminds me of running through a field full of Queen Anne’s Lace! It will be the perfect dress for a hot summer’s day!

    Like

  2. This fabric reminds me of days spent running through fields of Queen Anne’s Lace.
    It will be the perfect dress to add to your summer collection!

    Like

Leave a Reply

