McCall’s 6696

McCall’s 6696 has made its rounds on the blog circuit. Just looking at the envelope it never caught my eye but I have seen enough reviews of the pattern to know it was worth a shot.

images

I of course selected the full skirt version and a  cotton print.  This pattern had a lot of things that I had never done. A yolk , standup collar, and button plackets. It’s like a ligitiamate mans shirt made for a womens body.  I didn’t do so well on the sleeves. It has some tucks and gathers. I looks fine on this dress (very girly) but I want to figure this out before I try and make a shirt for Tony.

DSC_0081

 

The  back has gathers that give it the impression of a tucked in blouse.

DSC_0077

I am particularly proud of the collar. Though its a little off center next time around (and there will be a next time) i’ll make sure to mark the center to fix that.

DSC_0073

Since Tony got me a serger I decided to try a blind hem.

DSC_0076

I lengthened the bodice my  now standard 1.5″ which moved the waistband so that buttons didn’t line up. My fix was to add a little snap to help keep the waist from pulling.DSC_0078

When I was buying the fabric I saw these buttons but they didn’t have enough so I ended up getting white buttons instead. The more I though about it I wanted the orange so I went to a different store and they had just enough. I’m glad I stuck with the orange buttons I think they work really well with the fabric.

The pattern had you slip stitch the button plackets, collar, yolk and waistband by hand….no thank you. I used top stitching instead on the waist, collar, and plackets and this method for the yolk (http://grainlinestudio.com/2013/04/08/archer-yoke_method2/)  The only hand sewing I ended up doing was the little snap and the insides look great.

DSC_0082

 

I did have some trouble attaching the skirt, It was way too big, I don’t know if I transferred the pleats wrong or what. I made the pleats in the back a little bigger to try and get things to sure up, as a result the side seam with the pocket sits further back and now its hard to get into the pocket 😦

Dispite the issues I adore the finished product. I really feel like im learning and growing.

3 thoughts on “McCall’s 6696

  1. This is a very flattering style! The fabric is perfect too! Let me know what type of fabric you would like to make a shirt for Tony with. Also, how much you would like.
    I’ll look for some and send it to you.

    You are becoming quite the seamstress! Your Mom taught you well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

