My First Button

I have a few projects under my belt now and so far my favorite has been a pattern by Gertie which produced this and this . I have worn the circle skirt dress several times now to a matinee of Book Of Mormon and out to a business dinner. It makes me feel like Zooey Deschanel in New Girl which is sort of my secret fashion idol.  I decided to try out another one of Gertie’s patterns. This time I selected Butterick 6217

but6217

I accidentally picked up the wrong size pattern (too small). After reading a few blogs people said the shirt was sized to be loose fitting which I defiantly didn’t think made sense with this style so I decided to try it out anyway.

I decided to make the A view (The one that Gertie is wearing). I used some cheap-o fabric from Walmart (who knew they had fabric). I have never done buttons with a machine or button holes and was a little hesitant. I figured with some cheap fabric I wouldn’t be to heart broken if it didn’t work out.  I don’t know what I was so worried about, it came out beautifully.

DSC_0290
After putting this shirt on I think I would have preferred the button holes to be vertical for ease of use.

 

After the last two projects I was getting a little tired of seam binding so I just did french seams throughout and only bound the facing and the arm holes.

DSC_0292

Now about those arm holes.  There are some serious issues with this pattern. First of the hole in the blouse is extremely tiny. I knew this was the case from reading other peoples experience so I cut them extra big and even still its a little tight. Also the petal sleeves are way to big for the arm hole. If I had to guess that is the size they are supposed to be and its the arm hole that was printed too small. You weren’t supposed to have to ease these sleeves, its why I picked this particular view. But with such a big size discrepancy I ended up having to run a gathering stitch to get them in. The end result looks fine but it just took me way longer then it should have.

DSC_0282 copy

Im neither hear nor there on the bust tie and with so much trouble on the sleeves I think that the next time I make this I will go for view C. I do like the neckline and I have this  dark navy fabric with gold anchors on it that I want to use. When I make it I will surely cut the arm wholes larger and probably add and inch or two to the length so that it doesn’t make me look so squatty.
DSC_0281

One thought on “My First Button

Leave a Reply

