In Denial of the Cold

I hate winter! I would be perfectly happy living in year round summer, Tony OTOH has dreams of living in British Columbia.  Denver isn’t bad, we have 300+ days of sunshine a year. But somehow winter always comes way sooner then I want it and Summer is never long enough. We had our first snow of the season last week. I celebrated by purchasing a bunch of bright cheery cotton at a 50% off sale intent on make a slew of light summer dresses, winter be damned.

For the first dress I decided to go back to this retro Butterick. I had done view C before here . I liked how the skirt fit on this dress and wanted to tackle view B next. I thought with some modern fabric patterns I wouldn’t look like I was wearing a costume.

B5603_F_x_new_grande

Once again I pulled out the seam binding. What can I say, I bought 100 yards of this stuff and I hate to let things go to waste. This skirt has 6 panels so I had to bind 12 edges. I think I am an expert now, I am very happy with the results.

DSC_0243 DSC_0244

I attached the bodice lining to the waist seam using a prick stitch which shows up a little more then I would have hoped.

DSC_0245

From my reading its common to use the prick stitch on the zipper installation of vintage patterns but I am pretty happy with my zipper method now and I don’t entirely like the look of the prick stitched zippers.

It turns out the ties on the shoulders aren’t actually attached. Its just a separate piece of rectangular fabric. When I put them on the dress I thought it looked silly and preferred the clean look without them better. I didn’t bother to do any pattern matching on this dress. In retrospect I wish I had on the center seam of the bodice. I don’t think it will offend anyone, just a personal annoyance.

DSC_0247

DSC_0248

 

Leave a Reply

