Batik

I have always been slightly envious of my dad’s array of hand made batik shirts. So I finally took the plunge (against the better judgment of the Jo-Ann’s associate) and decided to do a dress in batik fabric.I selected  McCalls 7086 from there archive collection.

$_35

Based on the results from that past dresses. I cut a straight size 12 even though  the envelop said I should have been a 14.  The fit was much better through the waist, though I may need to add a waist stay just to relive some of the tension on the zipper. But the shoulders are just a hair too big still.

It has an interesting gathered bow in the front which didn’t seem to show up in this photo but its super visible in person

DSC_0206

The pattern calls for 5 5/8 yards of fabric. I bought 6  just to be safe but I had almost a yard and a half left over which sort of miffed me since it was so expensive. The pattern has a fully lined skirt but leaves the bodice un-lined. I though that was a mistake since the bodice is what rubs against your skin the most AND has the most seams. So I did a lining in the bodice (all by my self). I used the technique from the Gertie pattern with a facing attached to the lining. This is my first time adding something to a pattern without any instructions and I think it turned out really well.

DSC_0209 (1)

For the skirt I left the lining out and just did french seams and did the hem with my new favorite lace.

DSC_0213

For the arms I read a post on Lilacs & Lace that suggested re-enforcing the arm pit  with top stiching on both sides of the seam when doing these types of sleeves. So I did and it also helped to make the curve a lot smother.

DSC_0208

And lastly I finished the sleeves just like the hem with lace. I will have to find out if its too itchy for this kind of application.

DSC_0211

Forgive the closed eyes…its hard taking photos of yourself!

DSC_0200

Leave a Reply

