50s flair

Now with a few garments under my belt I decided it was time to do something a little bit harder.  I decided upon this retro Butterick 6055. I had read a blog from someone else who complained that it was too easy, so I thought I could handle it. It has kimono sleeves which I appreciated since to do a set in sleeve still seems too complicated to me.

il_570xN.775703099_q168

I picked this yellow fabric with geometric overlay. And this is my first time doing pattern matching.  Can you even see it? There is a seam right down the center of the bodice! Now the darts on either side are another story,  but I don’t know if it would even be possible to pattern match those.

DSC_0223DSC_0235

This dress also has a side zipper. For my first zipper I don’t think it turned out too shabby.

DSC_0231

Here is a close up on the pocket.

DSC_0232

It’s not quite a full circle skirt but close. This is taken with a store bought petticoat underneath which I think really helps.

DSC_0193

Leave a Reply

